[Nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 61°F  
High: 70°F ~ Low: 49°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Local band finalist in mtvU contest

Saturday, March 31, 2007

Local band TGL was announced this week among 50 finalists across the United States competing for a promotion, video, tour and record deal from mtvU and Epic Records worth up to $1.5 million.

Earlier this month, TGL won mtvU's "best music on campus" award, and has been featured on national television since March 12.

Band members include Will Cath, Zach Stewart, John Sibbit and Quinn Fenlon, all graduates of Greencastle High School.

MtvU is a television station that is available on almost every college/university campus.

The winner among the 50 finalists will debut with a live performance on "Late Night with Conan O'Brien" on May 14.

College students and new music fans nationwide can vote on mtvU's "Bestmusiconcampus.com" from now through next month in an effort to help their favorite acts win record deal and be crowned "Artist of the Year."

The competition is part of mtvU's online music destination, Best Music on Campus, which offers opportunities for unsigned college acts, like TGL, to launch their careers.

The mtvU's "Best Music on Campus Artist of the Year" will receive major backing and national visibility: on-air, online, on tour, radio, retail and more. The winner will work with Epic label executives in recording a full LP and two music videos.

The videos will premier on mtvU and mtvU.com and roll out to other top on-air and online music destinations. The wining act will get a $50,000 cash advance at signing, plus full retail, radio, tour, marketing and grass roots support when the album is released.

The Artist of the Year's journey will also be documented and showcased in an original series premiering on mtvU and mtvU.com this summer.

For more information or to check out new music from college acts nationwide, visit www.bestmucisoncampus.com.

TGL has previously competed in the YouTube Underground video contest.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: