[Nameplate] Overcast ~ 50°F  
High: 56°F ~ Low: 45°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Carmichael and Holtsclaw win first features

Monday, May 21, 2007

If it has wheels, Kenny Carmichael Sr. can drive it. On Saturday night, the Terre Haute based driver scored his first UMP Modified feature victory at Lincoln Park Speedway to add to his multitude of street stock and sprint car victories. The victory pushed Carmichael to second place in the season points race behind only last week's winner, Paul Bumgardner who rolled to a third place finish in the feature behind Greg Amick who had placed fifth at Bloomington the evening before.

Carmichael pulled within 22 points, 319 to 297 in the LPS point standings following Saturday's race. Sitting in third place in the season points race, Chris Brewer hoped to move up after winning his heat race but bad luck relegated him to a 22nd place finish in the main event.

Gary Hall moved up to tie Brewer for third in the points after Hall placed 10th in the feature. Daryl Herbert took fourth followed by Phil VanSant, Chase Sterett, Mark Auler, Travis Shoulders, Dan Lewellen and Hall.

In the sprint car feature, a field of 30 cars filled the pits despite the 37th running of the "Tony Hulman Classic" running in Terre Haute and Paragon also in action. That was okay by Danny Holtsclaw who held off Terre Haute's Shawn Krockenberger and Brownsburg's Billy Puterbaugh who was hoping to repeat last week's victory.

Jeff Bland had an impressive run to win his heat race ahead Krockenberger and Cole Whitt who was rebounding from a flip at Bloomington the night before.  Bland wasn't able to duplicate his success in the feature, falling back to 19th behind Whitt and Ty Deckard.

Robbie Rice rolled to a fourth place finish ahead of Blake Fitzpatrick in the top five ahead of Kent Christian who finished an impressive runnerup the night before at Bloomington. Eric Smith placed seventh ahead of Todd Kimmell, Kenny Carmichael Jr. and A.J. Martin.

In super stocks, Doug McCullough increased his points lead by scoring his second feature win of the year ahead of Winston Howe and Cullen Goodman, running his first race of the season at LPS.

McCullough's points lead increased to 18 over last week's winner, Curt Leonard with Kenny Carmichael Jr. in third. Carmichael would come in fourth in Saturday's feature ahead of Larry Raines Jr., David Bumardner and Leonard. Rounding out the top-10 were Harry Shepherd, Jeff Starks and Bobby Price.

Lloyd Walls would bring home his second checkered flag of the season in bomber action to extend his season points advantage.

Doug Dunagan would score the second place finish ahead of Brazil's Chad Nolte and Ron Wallen Jr.. Ben Williams rounded out the top-five ahead of Dustin Colvin, Stacey Shepherd, Darrell Richardson, Arvis Shepherd and David Bumgardner II.

Next week will feature a regular slate of sprints, UMP Modifieds, super stocks and bombers.

At Lincoln Park Speedway

Sprint Car Feature

1. Danny Holtsclaw, 2. Shawn Krockenberger, 3. Billy Puterbaugh, 4. Robbie Rice, 5. Blake Fitzpatrick, 6. Kent Christian, 7. Eric Smith, 8. Todd Kimmell, 9. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 10. A.J. Martin, 11. Andrew Prather, 12. Jason Robbins, 13. Jason Holt, 14. Kevin Studley, 15. Jared Fox, 16. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 17. Ty Deckard, 18. Cole Whitt, 19. Jeff Bland, 20. Sammy Imel

UMP Modified Feature

1. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 2. Greg Amick, 3. Paul Bumgardner, 4. Daryl Herbert, 5. Phil VanSant, 6. Chase Sterett, 7. Mark Auler, 8. Travis Shoulders, 9. Dan Lewellen, 10. Gary Hall, 11. Al Flick, 12. Mike Trimble, 13. Brian Yeatman, 14. Jeremy Edmondson, 15. Jay Turner, 16. Jared Hix, 17. Brian Kempf, 18. Greg Pitts, 19. Jeremy Vanesky, 20. Robert Albright, 21. Kenny Brewer, 22. Chris Brewer, 23. Jake Waggoner

Super Stock Feature

1. Doug McCullough, 2. Winston Howe, 3. Cullen Goodman, 4. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 5. Larry Raines, 6. David Bumgardner, 7. Curt Leonard, 8. Harry Shepherd, 9. Jeff Starks, 10. Bobby Price, 11. Kris Starks, 12. Carlos Bumgardner Sr., 13. Joe Starks, 14. Mark Dickerson, 15. Larry Miller, 16. Larry Rowley Jr., 17. Robert Henderson, 18. Jacob Wright, 19. Bryan Figg, 20. Bob Farris, 21. Travis Howe, 22. Joe Whisler, 23. Ritchie Hawkins

Bomber Feature

1. Lloyd Walls, 2. Doug Dunagan, 3. Chad Nolte, 4. Ron Wallen Jr., 5. Ben Williams, 6. Dustin Colvin, 7. Stacey Shepherd, 8. Darrell Richardson, 9. Arvis Shepherd, 10. David Bumgardner II, 11. David Wallen, 12. Michael Thompson, 13. Sean Yakel, 14. Robert Hogan, 15. Mike Duncan, 16. Ron Wallen Sr., 17. Ron Smith, 18. Travis Heramb, 19. Dallas King, 20. Dustin Belcher

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: