[Nameplate] Fair ~ 59°F  
High: 70°F ~ Low: 46°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Seven slots unopposed for Nov. 6 election

Wednesday, August 8, 2007

When the final filing deadline for the Nov. 6 municipal elections passed recently, seven positions throughout the county remained unopposed and two more slots required last-minute party nominations to fill.

Greencastle City Council Ward Two has only one candidate -- incumbent Republican Mark N. Hammer. Incumbent Jason Hartman is running unopposed for the Bainbridge Town Clerk-Treasurer position. Roachdale Town Clerk-Treasurer Jennifer L. Crum faces no opposition in her re-election bid. Bainbridge Ward Two Town Councilman Richard Cope also faces no rival in November. Finally, only three people in Roachdale -- incumbents William R. Long and Jack R. Jones and newcomer Scott Barbara -- are running for the three open council member at-large jobs.

No Republican originally filed for the Greencastle City Clerk-Treasurer, so party officials nominated Rhonda Chaney to stand for election against incumbent Democrat Teresa P. Glenn. The Putnam County Democratic Party similarly nominated Adam Cohen as its candidate for the open City Common Council Ward One, said Putnam County Voter Registration Clerk Stacia Gibson. He faces Republican Jeremy M. Carver in the election.

As for the rest of Greencastle city government, Max Steven Butts is looking to reclaim City Hall for the Republicans, while Democrat Sue Murray is hoping to replace third-term Mayor Nancy Michael.

Republican Karen Hill-Ambler faces Democrat John A. Lanie for City Common Councilman At-Large. Two newcomers, V. Jinsie S. Bingham, a Democrat, and Eric R. Birt, a Republican, are vying for the open City Common Council Ward Three seat. Republican Terry J. Smith is attempting to unseat Democratic Ward Four Councilman Russell W. Evans.

The Bainbridge Town Council Ward One position has three candidates: Incumbent Naomi E. Barker, C.R. "Bob" Curran and Brent A. Foltz. In Ward Two, Michael W. Smith, an incumbent, stands for election against Bonnie Osborn.

In Cloverdale, Cathleen Monaco has filed to run against Patti Truax as Town Clerk-Treasurer. Six candidates are running for two open council member at-large positions. Republicans Stephen D. Caulkins and Terry S. Puffer have filed to stand for election, as well as independents Phyliss J. Gaddis, Charlie Schenk, Tom Tomlinson and Joseph L. Zimmerman. Republican Glen Vickroy vying against independent Jerry V. Acrea for the Ward One seat. Republican incumbent Donald E. Sublett hopes to hold his position in Ward Two against challenger John Davis, an independent.

Two new faces, Wanda Seidler and Margaret Alexander, are running against each other to become Fillmore Town Clerk-Treasurer. In Ward 2, Albert L. Epple is defending his Town Councilman seat against Alan F. Jones and Robert E. Tyler, Sr. Three candidates, Jeff Osborn, Danny Grimes and David M. Nissen, are vying to be elected Ward Three Town Councilman.

Because there are no competitive races for Roachdale Town Clerk-Treasurer or Town Council, there likely won't be an election in Roachdale in November, Gibson, who helps coordinate the elections, said.

Janet K. Smith, the Russellville Town Clerk-Treasurer must defend her job from three candidates: Lisa Curtis, D. D. Davis and Sally S. McAfee. Incum-bents Don Reddish and Jim Rodgers are running against Norma J. Gross, Dianna Gorrell and Betty J. Need for the three town council at-large positions.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: