[Nameplate] Overcast ~ 59°F  
High: 60°F ~ Low: 48°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Track champions crowned at Lincoln Park

Monday, September 17, 2007

PUTNAMVILLE -- Track champions were crowned Saturday night at Lincoln Park Speedway.

Four feature wins at the Putnamville oval were enough to earn Billy Puterbaugh a sprint car championship at Lincoln Park Speedway. The Brownsburg native also claimed the championship at Gas City Speedway for the 2007 season.

Puterbaugh's consistency was also a prime component in his title as evidenced by a top-three performance on Saturday night.

Not even the Autumn chill was enough to cool off 18-year old Jeff Bland who repeated as feature winner and continued what has been a red hot end to the summer.

Bland was never seriously challenged in Saturday's feature, starting outside the front row alongside Tim Creech. But Bland quickly sank his teeth into the lead and led the entire 25-lap distance to best Kenny Niflis and Puterbaugh. Jimmy Light, Casey Shuman and Bobby Stines rounded out the top-seven.

Dickie Gaines claimed a bonus $100 for being in seventh place on the 24th lap of the feature. Brad Marvel put the bonus money up in honor of Billy Marvel who was killed at Lincoln Park during a hot lap crash 24 years before.

Billy's father, Bill Marvel Sr., a retired USAC Vice President, instituted an award as a memorial to his son, the "Billy Marvel Jr. Hoosier Sprint Car Rookie of the Year," which is voted on by the Hoosier Auto

Racing Fans' (HARF) Board of Directors each season.Puterbaugh is a past winner of this award as well as Kenny Carmichael, Derek Scheffel, Tony Stewart and Justin Marvel.

Bloomington's Shelby Miles, third in national UMP Modified points, invaded Lincoln Park on Saturday looking to further cement his position ahead of Ilinois' Gary Cook Jr.

Greencastle's Paul Bumgardner (No. 54) duals with Ray Humphrey on Saturday night on his way to cementing his third straight modified points championship at Lincoln Park Speedway.
But he had plenty of tough competition that unloaded as well, including Ray Humphrey, Wes McClara, Jimmy Hayden and local favorite Paul Bumgardner, who received his third straight points championship.

Bumgardner started up front, but Miles quickly made his way to the point and kept the competition behind him on a track that was perhaps the raciest it has been all season. Miles was able to cross the line ahead of a charging Greg Amick. Finishing close behind was a pack that included Kenny Carmichael Sr., Bumgardner, Brad Robinson, Jimmy Hayden and Wes McClara.

Exact final results were not available at press time.

In super stocks, Joe Whisler overtook Mike Wright Jr. on a restart with one lap remaining to get the victory in his Franklin-built ride. Whisler piloted the Porter Paints/40-minute cleaner ride to victory lane for the second time this season.

Kenny Carmichael Jr. was able to edge out Doug McCullough for the track championship by mere points after McCullough was forced from the race early on after damage in a collision.

Paragon Speedway regular Bobby Gardner was the bomber winner on Saturday, but Terre Haute's Lloyd Walls took home the championship hardware. Gardner was able to hold off Marlin Burns and Ben Williams in the feature. Williams took home second place in the season points championship.

Lincoln Park Speedway will run the re-scheduled Patriot 100 for UMP Modifieds on Saturday night with $2,000 going to the winner. Super stocks and bombers will also run on the schedule.

At Lincoln Park Speedway

Sprint Car Feature -- 1. Jeff Bland Jr., 2. Kenny Niflis, 3. Billy Puterbaugh, 4. Jimmy Light, 5. Casey Shuman, 6. Bobby Stines, 7. Dickie Gaines, 8. Troy Link, 9. Kent Christian, 10. Todd Kimmell, 11. Robbie Rice, 12. Andrew Prather, 13. A.J. Martin, 14. Shawn Krockenberger, 15. Rick Vaughn, 16. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 17. Tim Creech III, 18. Craig Dori, 19. Anthony Peterman, 20. Kenny Carmichael

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: