[Nameplate] Light Rain ~ 54°F  
High: 62°F ~ Low: 48°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

University chapter recognized

Friday, September 19, 2008

The Mortar Board chapter at DePauw University was named as an outstanding chapter and honored for excellence at the 2008 Mortar Board National Conference, held in Columbus, Ohio in July.

The group was one of 59 outstanding chapters receiving the Silver Torch Award, presented to chapters executing timeliness and dedication while exemplifying the ideals of scholarship, leadership and service.

Recipients are selected based on a review of national records, requiring that the chapter meet all of the national minimum standards and deadlines.

Chapter President Stacey Wagner accepted the chapter's award in Columbus.

Mortar Board is a national honor society that recognizes college seniors for outstanding achievement in scholarship, leadership and service.

Since its founding in 1918, the organization has grown from the four founding chapters to 226 chartered collegiate chapters with nearly a quarter of a million initiated members across the nation.

The Mortar Board chapter at DePauw University was chartered in 1919 and currently has 33 members.

Mortar Board provides opportunities for continued leadership development, promotes service to colleges and universities and encourages lifelong contributions to the global community.

Some notable Mortar Board members include former President Jimmy Carter, Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice, Lance Armstrong and former Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor. Learn more about Mortar Board at www.mortarboard.org.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: