Hope Haven helpers lauded

Tuesday, September 23, 2008



Without the dedication of volunteers, Hope Haven Horse Farm Inc. would likely not be able to operate.

"Our volunteers are what make us able to do what we do," said Christy Menke, executive director.

On Saturday, several of those volunteers were honored with Presidential Volunteer Service Awards for hours they logged in 2007.

"We have some of the best volunteers," said Delma Klindt, who works at Hope Haven and also volunteers.

Honorees included Menke (2,000 hours), Klindt (1,750 hours) , Bailey Goff (384 hours), Krista Klindt (369 hours), Ryan Wallace (321 hours) and Alexis Morin (124 hours), who all received gold awards; Sidney Tongret (351 hours), who received a silver award; and Ronald Klindt (200 hours), who received a bronze award.

Criteria for the award are different for different age levels.

Several other volunteers who have not yet reached the level of volunteer hours necessary to merit a Presidential Award were also recognized.

The President's Volunteer Service Award is issued by the President's Council on Service and Civic Participation on behalf of the President of the United States to "recognize the best in the American spirit, and to encourage all Americans to improve their communities through volunteer service and civic participation," information about the council's Web site said.

President George W. Bush created the President's Council on Service and Civic Participation in 2003 "to help recognize the valuable contributions volunteers are making to our nation," the site said.

The council is chaired by two-time Super Bowl champion Darrell Green, and is co-chaired by Sens. Robert Dole and John Glenn.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: