[Nameplate] Mostly Cloudy ~ 54°F  
High: 57°F ~ Low: 45°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

DePauw faculty excellence recognized through annual awards

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

John T. Schlotterbeck, the A.W. Crandall Professor of History at DePauw University, has been awarded the Mr. and Mrs. Fred C. Tucker Jr. Distinguished Career Award at the university.

Presented annually by the DPU president to one or more senior members of the faculty since 1988, the Tucker Award is designed to recognize the achievements of those faculty members who have made notable contributions to DePauw by their commitments to students, teaching excellence, their chosen disciplines, and service to the university.

The award was presented to Schlotterbeck at a recent faculty recognition program, hosted by President Brian W. Casey at The Elms.

Also honored at the program was Carla G. Edwards, professor of music and university organist, who was presented with the 2012 Edwin L. Minar Jr. Scholarship Award.

Established in 1981, the Minar Award is presented in recognition of exceptional scholarly achievement by a faculty member and is named in honor of its first recipient, a former professor in the department of classical studies.

Pamela M. Propsom, the Kenneth S. Wagoner Professor of Psychology at DePauw, was announced as the recipient of the G. Bromley Oxfam Award for Service.

Named after DePauw's 13th president (1928-1936), the award was created in 2009 by a gift from Neal B. Abraham, who served as DePauw's executive vice president, vice president for academic affairs and professor of physics from 1998 to 2009, and his wife, Donna L. Wiley.

The faculty recognition program included acknowledgement of four DePauw faculty members who retired at the conclusion of the current academic year.

They were: Nancy J. Davis, Lester Martin Jones Professor of Sociology, who came to DePauw in 1982; Carl A. Huffman, Robert Stock well Professor of Greek Language and Literature and professor of classical studies since 1981; Cleveland T. Johnson, professor of music, who joined the faculty in 1985; and Robert D. Kingsley, professor of art and art history since 1976.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: