Boys' basketball brackets revealed

Monday, February 18, 2013

The Indiana High School Athletic Association revealed the sectional pairings for the 2013 boys' basketball tournament on Sunday.

Many of the four Putnam County schools will begin tournament play at different times, making it possible to catch most of the action.

In sectional 25, hosted at Frankfort High School, North Putnam (8-11) has a bye through the first round of play. The Cougars will open postseason play on Friday, March 1 at 6 p.m.

They'll take on the winner of the Lebanon (14-5) versus North Montgomery (3-15) game that will take place on Tuesday, Feb. 26 at 6 p.m.

The other side of the sectional 25 bracket begins play on Wednes-day, Feb. 27 with Southmont (14-5) taking on Western Boone (9-10) at 6 p.m. and Crawfordsville (4-14) facing Frankfort (16-4) at 7:30 p.m.

Greencastle High School (3-15) is hosting sectional 28. The Tiger Cubs will begin the postseason against Edgewood (11-8) on Tuesday, Feb. 26 at 7:30 p.m.

The Mustangs beat the Tiger Cubs 59-51 on Jan. 12 and GHS will be looking for revenge.

The winner will advance to face West Vigo (10-10) on Friday, March 1 at 7:30 p.m.

On the opposite side, South Vermillion (4-16) opens the section against Brown County (5-14) on Tuesday at 6 p.m. The winner faces Owen Valley (9-10) on Friday at 6 p.m.

The final two Putnam County teams each play in sectional 44, hosted by South Putnam High School.

The Cloverdale boys kick that section off on Tuesday, Feb. 26 at 6 p.m. when they face Cascade.

Cloverdale (6-14) lost at home to Cascade (6-13) on Jan. 11, 56-48.

South Putnam (10-9) has a bye and will play the winner of the previous game on Friday, March 1 at 6 p.m.

The Eagles beat Cloverdale 74-67 on Jan. 25 and beat Cascade 49-38 on Dec. 7.

Speedway (15-4) and Monrovia (8-11) have their opening round game on Tuesday at 7:30 p.m.

Covenant Christian (5-14) plays that winner on Friday at 7:30 p.m.

The 2013 tournament will be the 103rd in Indiana's history.

Last season, the sectionals were won by Frankfort, Edgewood and Speedway, respectively.

For complete tournament brackets, teams and schedules, visit

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: